Trust us, you won't want to miss a post from The Uprise Blog.

Thanks for Subscribing!

Is Your Optometric Practice In A One-door Or Two-door State?

Posted by Jeff Rezabek on Nov 22, 2017 3:25:00 PM

Practicing optometry in a corporate setting can be beneficial for new optometry graduates and experienced ODs. If you’re planning on going into to corporate optometry, one thing you should look at when considering joining a corporate optometry practice is if your state is a one-door or a two-door state.

This post provides a list of one-door and two-door states.

Breaking Down One-door And Two-door States for Corporate Optometry

List of Two-door States for OptometryOne-door and Two-door States for Corporate Optometry

In a two-door state, the independent OD must be professionally and physically separated from the retailer’s optical department. According to a report from Jobson, the states listed below have a two-door policy for corporate optometric practices.

The two-door states for optometry include:

  1. Kansas
  2. Kentucky
  3. Maine
  4. Massachusetts
  5. Mississippi
  6. New Mexico
  7. North Carolina
  8. North Dakota
  9. Oklahoma
  10. Oregon
  11. Rhone Island
  12. South Dakota
  13. Tennessee
  14. Texas
  15. Virginia
  16. West Virginia

Lists of The One-door States For Optometry

In a one door state, independent ODs are able to work inside the retailer’s optical department without the need for separate office spaces. Independent ODs in a one-door state can take advantage of shared services like booking appointments, processing payments, and more. According to Jobson, the following states do not have a two-door policy for optometry.

List of The One-door States For Optometry:

  1. Alabama
  2. Arizona
  3. Arkansas
  4. California
  5. Colorado
  6. Connecticut
  7. Delaware
  8. Florida
  9. Georgia
  10. Hawaii
  11. Idaho
  12. Illinois
  13. Indiana
  14. Iowa
  15. Louisiana
  16. Maryland
  17. Michigan
  18. Minnesota
  19. Missouri
  20. Montana
  21. Nebraska
  22. Nevada
  23. New Hampshire
  24. New Jersey
  25. New York
  26. Ohio
  27. Pennsylvania
  28. South Carolina
  29. Utah
  30. Vermont
  31. Washington
  32. Wisconsin
  33. Wyoming

What About Alaska?

I know I only listed 49 states here. But after looking through the Jobson list and the Corporate Optometry Facebook group, I couldn’t confirm whether Alaska is a two-door state or a one-door state. If anyone knows the answer, let me know in the comments below!

Subscribe to the Uprise Blog and keep up with the latest trends, best practices, and tips for the eyecare community.


Topics: Optometrist, Tips for ECPs

Want more optometry practice management tips? Check out our blogs.